Metropolis re-release

Fans of old cinema should rejoice, as Fritz Lang’s classic 1927 film Metropolis is being re-released in theaters this year.

I for one am very excited about this. I remember the first time I ever saw this movie. My mother had bought it on DVD – one of the first my family owned – and I, a jaded pre-teen, had complained about having to watch a subtitled black and white silent movie.

Within ten minutes my jaw was on the floor. Go see this movie. It is not only visually stunning – I’d say it can still hold its own when compared to modern films – but it is one of the greatest science fiction stories ever made.

It will get to Philadelphia on July 23rd, at the Landmark Ritz at the Bourse.

This entry was posted in events, fandom, movies, Steampunk. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment