The Phillies take game 1!

The city is screaming. Its cries are rising up as one through the din, keeping me awake. It reaches out to me through the night, permeating the walls of my room, wafting in through my open window. As one united voice, Philadelphia cries out. “Hope”, it cries. “We have hope even in these dark times.” Hope that magic still exists and the underdogs can still win. In a city of violence and corruption everything hinges on these games. Can a team, no, can a city, rise from the ashes and be revived? Can things really change for the better? Can twenty years of nothing, of being mocked and of sinking into the muck truly end? This is the cry that is piecing South Philadelphia tonight. 

Only, its kinda scaring my cat. So I’d like the screaming to end now so she’ll come out of my closet. 

Seriously though, I wish everyone could hear what I hear when there’s a big game like this. I can just sit and listen, and every few minutes I hear the hopes and dreams of thousands of people merging into one giant primal cry. It’s fantastic.

*context: I live within walking distance to where the Phillies are right now.*

This entry was posted in America, baseball, city life, events, living with cats, news, philadelphia, residential philadelphia, South Philly, Sports, The Phillies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment